Tags

, , ,

Merry Christmas!
It’s a season to remember the birth of Jesus and the wonders that came with his entry into the world. It’s a time to reminisce on the gift that God gave to us in his Son, and all the love that Jesus we experience as God’s children.
As the year comes to an end, its useful to reflect on God’s goodness and to be thankful for the many things He has done for us, the things we got and those we missed, for in all things God was working things out for your good.

For some people, 2016 may have been challenging, for others, it may have been amazing. But either way, as long as you are alive, you have a reason to be grateful. The story of the ten lepers in Luke 17:11-19 illustrates that giving thanks is a wise thing to do. No matter how many things you did right or could have done better, with life, there is hope and you can try again tomorrow. God’s mercies are new every morning (Lam. 3:22-23).

I work with the teenagers at church and we recently composed a poem together about Christmas because we couldn’t find anything online that we thought truly captured the essence of Christmas. I thought you share it with you:

When I was a baby
Christmas was just for fun
Now I’m a teen
I’ve figured it’s so much more

The story of Jesus birth told to me
Has become a reality
No longer just to look beneath the Christmas tree
But it’s the beginning of a journey
That set me free

Santa is not the reason I celebrate
Nor the angel on top of the tree
Nor the tinsel or stuffed turkey
Although delicious, that’s not for me

Instead I celebrate Christ’s birth
For He’s the true meaning of Christmas
Nothing else can come first
Its even in the name
He deserves all the fame

So this is an invitation
To shift your focus from the gifts, decorations, parties and all the other things that take our focus off the Master
Unto Jesus- the true reason for Christmas

Merry Christmas.
*MBW

