It’s all Worship

Hiiiiiiiii,

New rev’* alert!šŸ’ƒšŸ½ Iā€™m so excited to be sharing this.

I was speaking to a friend and we got talking about work, excellence and consistency. I saw an angle to things that I had not seen before and I’m here to dishĀ it to you becauseĀ it just might change yourĀ attitudeĀ to life!

Have you ever gotten mechanical with the routine of work? Attending meetings, preparing reports, hoping “this email meets you well”, etc. I know I have. That is why this conversation I had was life-changing for me. The crux of the conversation was thatĀ everything I do is worship. (Selah)

Worship is not only when your hands are lifted (or semi-lifted) as you sway toĀ Bethel MusicĀ orĀ Steffany Gretzinger. Worship is not fast or slow songs, or you crying while you sing. Everything you do is worship.

Romans 12:1 (NLT) says ā€œAnd so dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice ā€“ the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.ā€

The Bible says that to present your bodies as a living sacrifice to God is theĀ true wayĀ to worship Him.Ā 

The Message Translation says, ā€œSo hereā€™s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary lifeā€”your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around lifeā€”and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him.ā€

I love that this translation mentions ā€˜going to workā€™, because we spend a large chunk of our day at work. So, our work should be our worship. Sunday service is nowhere near enough time to fully worship, and really, our worship should never stop. It should be a continuous, never-ending state of our hearts that is reflected in our character and attitude. The Bible tells us to take our everyday life and place it before God as an offering. For us, that would mean our report writing, email-sending, customer-caring, social media management, content creation, photography, whatever it is you do, and present it as an offering to God.

The context of this conversation was in relation to paid employment which led my mind to wander around the subject. If God were my boss, and I only got to worship Him through my work, how would I work? Is it the way I am working now?

Would I ignore the stain on a letter I printed because it didn’t matter, ā€œitā€™s not even one of our major clientsā€; would I pay more attention to the details of my work; would I give credit to my teammates who did 90% of the work?; would I speak negatively about my boss if I knew he could hear my every word?

Your work is worship to God! Your boss may be out of the country half the year, but God is always there- it’s worship. How are you handling assigned tasks? Is there a more excellent way? Can it be done better? Are you giving your best self to it? Are you using office equipment for your private practice?Ā 

There are so many ways to look at this, and many of us have fallen short in our worship. We have gotten so used to the routine that we forget that we can only do what we do because God gives us the grace to do it.Ā Iā€™m so grateful for that conversation, because it has led to my encouraging you to switch things up. You can worship better, and it all depends on you. I pray God helps us and the Holy Spirit reminds us to worship in everything we do and in the ways that we do it.

Love, light and glowing skin,

Ife

*rev’-Ā revelation; insight received from God’s Word

2 thoughts on “It’s all Worship

Leave a comment